What Men REALLY Wore in the 1940s

j

by Gentleman's Gazette

}

05.21.2024



Movies and TV shows may depict characters in 1940s fashions, but are they period accurate? Let’s examine true 1940s style! https://gentl.mn/what-men-wore-1940s

#1940sfashion #menswear #notsponsored

SHOP THE VIDEO:
→ Shadow Stripe Socks Navy Blue & Red: https://gentl.mn/stripe-socks–navy-red
→ Mid Brown & Green Shadow Stripe Socks: https://gentl.mn/stripe-socks-brown-green1
→ White Linen Pocket Square: https://gentl.mn/pocket-square-solid-white
→ Orange & Navy Blue Two-Tone Socks: https://gentl.mn/orange-blue-two-tone-socks
→ Black Calf Leather Belt: https://gentl.mn/leather-belt-black-calf
→ Neville Gold Solid Brass Belt Buckle: https://gentl.mn/neville-gold-belt-buckle
→ Gold Monkey Fist Knot Cufflinks: https://gentl.mn/monkey-fist-knot-gold-cufflinks

GUIDES YOU DON’T WANT TO MISS:
→ Shirt & Collar Stays: https://gentl.mn/shirt-stays-collar-guide1
→ The Stripes Guide:https://gentl.mn/stripes-guide
→ Spezzato: Breaking Up Suits: https://gentl.mn/breaking-up-suits
→ True 1920s Menswear: https://gentl.mn/what-men-wore-1920s1
→ True 1930s Menswear: https://gentl.mn/what-men-wore-1930s1
→ Flashy Dress Shoes?: https://gentl.mn/colorful-flashy-dress-shoes1
→ Sneakers: Should Gentlemen Wear Them?: https://gentl.mn/sneakers
→ How Quality Gloves Are Made: https://gentl.mn/how-high-end-gloves-are-made

VIDEO CREDITS:
→ Script: Aaron White & Teresa C. Schneider
→ Camera: Chris Dummer
→ Editing: Jonathan Oster
→ Paramount Pictures
→ Antique Menswear by Aaron White

IMAGE CREDIT:
→ National WWII Museum

Want to see more videos? Subscribe to our channel!
→ https://gentl.mn/youtube

Become a part of the Gentleman’s Gazette community – support us on Patreon!
https://gentl.mn/patron
_____________________________________________ ___________________________
Gentleman’s Gazette
https://gentl.mn/home-GG2
https://gentl.mn/shop-FB-2
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gentlemansgazette
FREE EBOOK: https://gentl.mn/ebook-newsletter-GG2

00:00 1940s Menswear Introduction

In the first half of the 1940s WW2 was raging and even after the war ended in 1945 the effects of such a mighty and tragic world event were still being felt.

In decades past high fashion had always been for the wealthy, for the aristocrats. They were looked up to, people aspired to be them. But not anymore. With warfare bringing the classes together on the battlefield the culture had shifted and the status of the aristocrat was dying.

And as one might expect in the war period, one’s clothing also spoke volumes about one’s patriotism! Therefore in much of this video we will be talking about how rationing and military styles affected and influenced men’s fashion in the 1940s.

01:54 Hats
03:04 Hairstyles and Facial Hair
03:55 Eyewear
05:39 Shirts
08:49 Neckwear
10:26 Waistcoats
11:22 Suits & Odd Jakcets
15:42 Trousers (& Zoot Suits)
18:22 Footwear
20:09 Accessories

You can see that a lot of what was worn in the 1940s could be recognized as far more modern than previous decades. The 1940s was an era hard hit with war, austerity, and rationing and this greatly affected what could be worn. Many people were mix-matching their clothes, others were wearing old clothes to save money,

The 1940s made wearing simple open, soft shirts and comfortable slacks mainstream. Of course, this is an incredibly interesting decade. And we would love to explore more of the obscure garments, interesting fads, and eccentricities of this era in future videos.

So if you’d like to see us cover more on Zoot Suits, workwear or the Cowboy fashions worn in the 1940s, or other historical fashion fads for that matter, please us know in the comments below!

22:21 Outfit Rundown

source

Modern Tunics is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

 

Featured

Related Posts

Follow Us

Comments

0 Comments

Related Posts

A Vintage 1940's Fashion Runway: 4K Restored 1947 Film USA

A Vintage 1940's Fashion Runway: 4K Restored 1947 Film USA

Step into the glamorous 1940s for a stunning frame by frame colorised fashion film. Connecticut USA 1947. 1940s women's clothing apparel featured includes summer dresses and suits, playsuits and swimsuits. Clothes by Sage Allen department store Hartford. Produced by...

Women's Fashion of the 1940s ~ Forties Fashion Trends

Women's Fashion of the 1940s ~ Forties Fashion Trends

History of Women's Fashion during the decade of the forties. Thanks for watching! Please rate, share, and subscribe, Please let me know if you would like more videos covering the history of fashion. http://www.etsy.com/shop/GyspyTreasureBox...