Vintage Men Dressed Better–Here Are 10 Keys to Their Style!

j

by Gentleman's Gazette

}

01.30.2024



We will look at ten items (plus a bonus!) that gentlemen in history simply wore better: https://gentl.mn/vintage-men-dressed-better

#vintage #menswear #notsponsored

SHOP THE VIDEO:
→ Navy Blue & White Two-Tone Solid Socks: https://gentl.mn/navy-white-socks
→ Pale Violet Triple Wood Sorrel Boutonniere: https://gentl.mn/violet-sorrel-boutonniere
→ Gentlemen of the Golden Age Ebook: https://gentl.mn/gents-golden-age-ebook

GUIDES YOU DON’T WANT TO MISS:
→ Rental Tuxedos: How Bad Are They?: https://gentl.mn/rental-tux-how-bad
→ Does “Made In” Matter?: https://gentl.mn/made-in-where-matter
→ How to Tie A Bow Tie: https://gentl.mn/how-to-bow-tie
→ 3 Advanced Ways to tie a Bow Tie: https://gentl.mn/advanced-bow-tie-how-to
→ Black Tie Guide: https://gentl.mn/black-tie-knowledge
→ Why Did Men Stop Wearing Dress Shoes?: https://gentl.mn/dress-shoes-stop
→ $100 vs. $500 Men’s Dress Shoes: https://gentl.mn/100-vs-500-dress-shoes
→ $4 vs. $40 socks: https://gentl.mn/4vs40-better-socks
→ How To Combine Socks, Shoes, & Pants: https://gentl.mn/socks-shoes-pants-matching
→ How Pants Should Fit: https://gentl.mn/pants-proper-fit
→ How to Style A Denim Shirt: https://gentl.mn/denim-shirt-styling
→ How Many Dress Shirts Does a Man Need?: https://gentl.mn/dress-shirts-how-many
→ Shirt Collar Styles: https://gentl.mn/collar-types-men
→ Ties Playlist: https://gentl.mn/watch-ties-playlist
→ How To Tie An Ascot: https://gentl.mn/tie-an-ascot
→ 12 Essential Ties Every Man Should Have: https://gentl.mn/12-ties-to-have
→ Why Did Men Stop Wearing Hats?: https://gentl.mn/hat-wearing-stopped
→ How to Get the Right Hat: https://gentl.mn/proper-hat-shape-for-you
→ Canada Goose Jackets – Is It Worth It?: https://gentl.mn/canada-goose-review
→ My Winter Coat Collection: https://gentl.mn/winter-coat-collection1
→ What “Downton Abbey” Got Wrong: https://gentl.mn/downton-abbey-review1
→ Men’s Classic Sleepwear: https://gentl.mn/classic-sleepwear-men
→ JLC Reverso Watch: Is It Worth It?: https://gentl.mn/jlc-reverso-watch2

VIDEO CREDITS:
→ Script: E.J. Daniels
→ Camera: Chris Dummer
→ Editing: Jonathan Oster
→ Visual Supervisor: Preston Schlueter
→ Macklemore LLC
→ Warner Bros.
→ Paramount Pictures

Want to see more videos? Subscribe to our channel!
→ https://gentl.mn/youtube

Become a part of the Gentleman’s Gazette community – support us on Patreon!
https://gentl.mn/patron
________________________________________________________________________
Gentleman’s Gazette
https://gentl.mn/gentsgazette-homepage-1
https://gentl.mn/fb-gg-shop-accessories
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gentlemansgazette
Gentleman Quiz: https://gentl.mn/what-type-of-gent-quiz

00:00 Vintage Style Introduction
It’s hard not to notice just how well vintage gents used to wear their clothes! We’ll take a look at the differences seen in the menswear of yesteryear to see how (as well as how much better!) classic style was done then.

01:30 1. Black Tie
Vintage gentlemen tended to own their own Black Tie ensembles and they dressed up more in the past. Nowadays, many men either don’t dress up for special events at all or rent a tuxedo.

05:28 2. Shoes
Dress shoes were considered major investments in the past. Shoes weren’t just treasured, they were treasures!

08:23 3. Socks
Vintage gentlemen took socks as seriously as shoes. Colorful socks in a variety of designs were a staple of classic menswear.

10:12 4. Trousers
Trousers had a flattering high waist that falls on the natural waist and not just above the hips. In the 1910s and ’20s they were slimmer; in the 1930s they got fuller, but they always had a well-fitting high rise.

13:18 5. Dress Shirts
Vintage gentlemen knew the right shirt for the right outfit and they’re not afraid to introduce patterns and pastel tone colors. From their dress shirts, they build a collection that suits their lifestyle, wardrobe, and climate.

15:51 6. Odd Combinations
Vintage gentlemen had to make fewer garments go farther so they developed a sense for creative and stylish combinations.

16:59 7. Neckwear
They crafted collections of neckties and bow ties suitable for work, play, and formal occasions.

20:22 8. Hats
How could hats look so right on vintage gentlemen? Vintage gentlemen grew up in a society where the rules and traditions of wearing hats were taught and valued.

21:29 9. Overcoats
They have high standards for quality so vintage gentlemen knew to never skimp on clothes that keep you warm.

23:21 10. Pajamas
Vintage gentlemen understood that even if most people will never see you in a sleeping garment, it’s still worth getting a good one for your own benefit.

24:49 BONUS: Watches
Vintage gentlemen employed different face styles, bands, and materials for watches that fit their style and the occasion. They also treated watches like treasured family heirlooms.

Hopefully, we’ve shown how the style of the past isn’t gone forever.

26:02 Outfit Rundown

source

Modern Tunics is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

 

Featured

Related Posts

Men's Clothing Evolution #shorts

The evolution of men's clothing has been a long and fascinating journey that has seen a wide range of styles come and go. From the early days of primitive man to the modern era, men's clothing has undergone countless changes to reflect changes in culture, technology,...

read more
Follow Us

Comments

0 Comments

Related Posts

Men's Clothing Evolution #shorts

Men's Clothing Evolution #shorts

The evolution of men's clothing has been a long and fascinating journey that has seen a wide range of styles come and go. From the early days of primitive man to the modern era, men's clothing has undergone countless changes to reflect changes in culture, technology,...