What Men REALLY Wore in the 1920s

j

by Gentleman's Gazette

}

01.29.2024



Do shows like “Boardwalk Empire” and “Babylon Berlin” get their fashions right? Here’s what men truly wore in the 1920s: https://gentl.mn/what-men-wore-1920s

#1920sfashion #1920smenswear #notsponsored

SHOP THE VIDEO:
→ Knit Tie in Solid Steel Blue-Gray: https://gentl.mn/knit-tie-grey-steel-blue
→ Edelweiss Boutonniere: https://gentl.mn/edelweiss
→ Shadow Stripe Socks Charcoal & Orange: https://gentl.mn/socks-shadow-stripe-charcoal-orange
→ Light Gray Shoelaces Round: https://gentl.mn/light-gray-shoelaces-round
→ Orange & Navy Blue Two-Tone Solid Socks: https://gentl.mn/orange-navy-blue-two-tone-socks
→ Navy Blue Pocket Square with Printed geometric medallions: https://gentl.mn/navy-blue-medallion-pocket-square

GUIDES YOU DON’T WANT TO MISS:
→ 02.00 Boardwalk Empire Got It Wrong?: https://gentl.mn/menswear-review-boardwalk-empire
→ True 1910s Menswear: https://gentl.mn/true-1910s-menswear
→ 4.18 Top 10 Stylish Gangster Movies: https://gentl.mn/stylish-gangster-movies1
→ 6.46 How To Wear A Vest: https://gentl.mn/men-waistcoats-odd-vest
→ 08.19 20th Century Fashion Fails: https://gentl.mn/worst-fashion-fails-20th-century-1
→ 12.38 Does “Made In” Matter?: https://gentl.mn/do-countries-origin-matter-2
→ 14.45 Flat Cap Guide: https://gentl.mn/flat-cap

VIDEO CREDITS:
→ Script: Aaron White
→ Camera: Chris Dummer
→ Editing: Jonathan Oster
→ Antique Menswear
→ Glam, Inc.
→ HBO
→ United Artists
→ Nass
→ BBC

Want to see more videos? Subscribe to our channel!
→ https://gentl.mn/youtube

Become a part of the Gentleman’s Gazette community – support us on Patreon!
https://gentl.mn/patron
________________________________________________________________________
Gentleman’s Gazette
https://gentl.mn/gg-home-3
https://gentl.mn/FB-shop-3
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gentlemansga…
FREE EBOOK: https://gentl.mn/gg-newsletter-ebook-2

Aaron White’s Youtube Channel
Antique Menswear: https://www.youtube.com/c/AntiqueMenswear

00:00 1920s Men Fashion & Style Introduction

The Roaring Twenties are remembered for technology, innovation, high fashion, and party time. Many people cite this decade as the start of the “Golden Age in Menswear.” Some even argued that the suit, as you know it today started blossoming at that point in time. While The Great Gatsby style comes to mind, is 1920s fashion truly all flashy and glam?

01:38 Misconceptions about 1920s Clothes
Maybe you’ve watched a virally popular video from Glam about 100 years of men’s fashion. While the production crew was excellent, the subject matter, the clothes were mostly inaccurate.

02:37 Real 1920s Menswear: Jackets
05:42 Waistcoats and Vests
06:48 Trousers
09:00 The “Jazz Suit”
09:36 Shirts & Collars
11:41 Footwear
13:15 Headwear
15:23 Facial Hair
16:20 Accessories
→ Canes
→ Pocket Square
→ Timepieces
→ Eyewear
→ Neckwear
19:48 Formal Clothing
→ Morning Wear
→ Evening Wear

Overall, the ’20s were a lot of fun and if you like the style, I suggest you check out the series Babylon Berlin, which is a German series, and it’s not all accurate but it has some cool styles as well. It also goes beyond the stuff you might have already seen.

21:13 Outfit Rundown

source

Modern Tunics is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

 

Featured

Related Posts

20's Inspired Party Updo

Here is a fun and flirty look inspired by the 1920's that is perfect for a party or New Years!! I want to thank you all so much for making 2013 so special! I hope you have an amazing New Year, and I will see you in 2014!!! Twitter & Instagram @chelsimadonna Products:...

read more
Follow Us

Comments

0 Comments

Related Posts

20's Inspired Party Updo

20's Inspired Party Updo

Here is a fun and flirty look inspired by the 1920's that is perfect for a party or New Years!! I want to thank you all so much for making 2013 so special! I hope you have an amazing New Year, and I will see you in 2014!!! Twitter & Instagram @chelsimadonna Products:...