What Men REALLY Wore in the 1950s

j

by Gentleman's Gazette

}

05.05.2024



Let’s take a look back and see what men really wore during the 1950s: https://gentl.mn/what-men-wore-1950s

#1950s #mensfashion #notsponsored

SHOP THE VIDEO:
→ Double-Sided Scarf in Brown, Red Paisley: https://gentl.mn/reversible-scarf-brown-red-paisley
→ Light Blue Chicory Boutonniere: https://gentl.mn/light-blue-chicory-boutonniere
→ Cashmere Wool Grenadine Tie in Orange, Gray Stripe: https://gentl.mn/grenadine-tie-stripe-orange-gray-2
→ Burgundy Touchscreen Dress Gloves: https://gentl.mn/burgundy-gloves-lamb-nappa
→ Grey Socks with Burgundy & White Clocks: https://gentl.mn/grey-socks-burgundy-white-clocks-1

GUIDES YOU DON’T WANT TO MISS:
→ Straw Boater Hat Guide: https://gentl.mn/straw-boater-hat-1
→ Panama Hat Guide: https://gentl.mn/hat-panama
→ Why Did Men Stop?: https://gentl.mn/men-stop-wearing-waistcoats1
→ Dress Like James Dean: https://gentl.mn/james-dean-style1
→ Classic Men’s Sleepwear: https://gentl.mn/pajamas-dressing-gown1
→ How To Tie A Bow Tie: https://gentl.mn/tie-a-bow-tie
→ Easy Tie Knots: https://gentl.mn/tie-knots-beginners1
→ Mohair Guide: https://gentl.mn/mohair-fabric
→ 20th Century Fashion Fails: https://gentl.mn/fashion-fails-20th-century
→ Guide to Chukka Boots: https://gentl.mn/chukka-boots-guide1
→ Clark’s Desert Boots: Is It Worth It?: https://gentl.mn/is-it-worth-it-clarks-boots1
→ The Paletot Coat: https://gentl.mn/paletot-coat1

VIDEO CREDITS:
→ Script: Aaron White & Sven Raphael Schneider
→ Camera: Chris Dummer
→ Editing: Jonathan Oster
→ Warner Bros

IMAGE CREDITS:
→ Thesouthern.com
→ Past Daily
→ BBC
→ Indianapolis Star

Want to see more videos? Subscribe to our channel!
→ https://gentl.mn/youtube

Become a part of the Gentleman’s Gazette community – support us on Patreon!
https://gentl.mn/patron
________________________________________________________________________
Gentleman’s Gazette
https://gentl.mn/home-GG3
https://gentl.mn/shop-FB-3
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gentlemansga…
FREE EBOOK: https://gentl.mn/ebook-newsletter-GG3

00:00 1950s Menswear Introduction

The 1950s were certainly cheerier than the 1940s. It was the age of increasing comfort and convenience. And it did see the birth of the teenager, of a rebellious youth, and the different fashions and styles that came along with it.

01:52 What Men Wore: Hats
02:58 Hair and Facial Hair
05:05 Eyewear
06:00 Waistcoats (Vests)
06:45 Dress Shirts
08:53 Casual Shirts
10:48 Ties
13:57 Suits
16:38 Leisure Jackets and Sport Coats
19:44 Trousers
20:39 Shoes
21:50 Overcoats
22:53 Accessories

You can see that the 1950s was a colossal decade for fashion. Despite the post-war issues at the time, consumerism was booming and people were enjoying fashion and freedom to its fullest extent.

Casual clothing is becoming much more mainstream, and so most men are ditching the suit after work and slipping into clothes we might recognize ourselves wearing today. This really is such a wide-ranging decade when it comes to clothing, and we hope that we’ve managed to capture most of it to the best of our ability for this video.

What are your opinions on 1950s fashion? Is there anything you’d like to see come back? Do the 1950s influence your wardrobe in any way?

24:20 Outfit Rundown

source

Modern Tunics is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

 

Featured

Related Posts

A Look Back At 1950s Style

Fashion Institute Of Technology's Valerie Steele and Warren-Tricomi Studio's Joel Warren showed Julie Chen which styles and fashion trends were hip for the whole family in the 1950s. source

read more
Follow Us

Comments

0 Comments

Related Posts

A Look Back At 1950s Style

A Look Back At 1950s Style

Fashion Institute Of Technology's Valerie Steele and Warren-Tricomi Studio's Joel Warren showed Julie Chen which styles and fashion trends were hip for the whole family in the 1950s. source